Life & Letters


About this Item

Title: Walt Whitman to William D. O'Connor, 10 October [1870]

Date: October 10, 1870

Whitman Archive ID: nyp.00295

Source: The Henry W. and Albert A. Berg Collection of English and American Literature, New York Public Library. The transcription presented here is derived from Walt Whitman, The Correspondence, ed. Edwin Haviland Miller (New York: New York University Press, 1961–1977), 2:115–116. For a description of the editorial rationale behind our treatment of the correspondence, see our statement of editorial policy.

Contributors to digital file: Kenneth M. Price, Elizabeth Lorang, Zachary King, and Eric Conrad

107 north Portland av.
Oct. 10.1

My dear friend,

I shall return to Washington next Saturday, 15th—William, it would be a favor if you would secure me a room to lodge & quarter in2—(look at the Dyer Hotel—it is a one-horse place, but might answer—or the Union hotel at Georgetown)—just needed for temporary purposes, (unless I find it sufficiently inviting to make me a "permanency")—

I do not feel to be very particular—only it would be so much off one's mind to have a specific point to make for—Write to me, so that I may get the letter Friday, 14th—or else meet me at the depot at 10 Saturday evening, if eligible—

All goes "as well as could be expected" with me—that's the phrase you know in parturition cases—& have not I been just delivered—& of triplets?3—I am hearty in health, & good spirits, Mother is well—also George—& in fact the whole Whitman family.

Have not heard a word from you or Nelly, since your letter—Has Nelly returned yet? Where is Charles Eldridge? I write this in my room home, early afternoon—Mother & I having had tete-a-tete dinner—so good & quiet—& this bright mellow October weather around us—I am now off for a couple of hours on the river & bay.



1. This letter is endorsed, "Answ'd Oct 12." Its envelope bears the address, "Wm. D. O'Connor, | Treasury Department, | Light House Board, | Washington, | D.C." It is postmarked: "New-York | Oct (?) | (?) | 6 PM (?)." [back]

2. Evidently Walt Whitman had given up his room with the Benedicts at 468 M North. [back]

3. Leaves of Grass, Passage to India, and Democratic Vistas[back]


Published Works | In Whitman's Hand | Life & Letters | Commentary | Resources | Pictures & Sound

Support the Archive | About the Archive

Distributed under a Creative Commons License. Matt Cohen, Ed Folsom, & Kenneth M. Price, editors.