Life & Letters


About this Item

Title: Walt Whitman to Henry Festing Jones, 12 July [1878]

Date: July 12, [1878]

Whitman Archive ID: tex.00433

Source: T. E. Hanley Collection, Harry Ransom Center, The University of Texas at Austin. The transcription presented here is derived from Walt Whitman, The Correspondence, ed. Edwin Haviland Miller (New York: New York University Press, 1964), 3:128. For a description of the editorial rationale behind our treatment of the correspondence, see our statement of editorial policy.

Contributors to digital file: Alicia Bones, Grace Thomas, Anthony Dreesen, and Kevin McMullen

Camden New Jersey
US America1
July 122

Your letter of June 20 reach'd me, with enclosure—thanks. I have to-day forwarded by mail, to same address as this card, my Two Vols. Please notify me (by postal card will do) soon as they reach you safely.

Walt Whitman


1. This letter bears the address: Henry Festing Jones | 1 Craven Hill Gardens W | London W | England. It is postmarked: Camden | Jul | 12 | N.J.; London N. W. | (?) 7 | Paid | (?) 78. [back]

2. See Whitman's letter to Jones of April 29, 1878. Whitman noted receipt of $9.70 from Jones on the preceding day (Whitman's Commonplace Book, Charles E. Feinberg Collection of the Papers of Walt Whitman, 1839–1919, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.). [back]


Published Works | In Whitman's Hand | Life & Letters | Commentary | Resources | Pictures & Sound

Support the Archive | About the Archive

Distributed under a Creative Commons License. Matt Cohen, Ed Folsom, & Kenneth M. Price, editors.