Life & Letters


About this Item

Title: Walter Whitman Reynolds to Walt Whitman, 13 May 1872

Date: May 13, 1872

Whitman Archive ID: loc.01863

Source: The Charles E. Feinberg Collection of the Papers of Walt Whitman, 1839–1919, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. Transcribed from digital images or a microfilm reproduction of the original item. For a description of the editorial rationale behind our treatment of the correspondence, see our statement of editorial policy.

Editorial note: The annotation, "One of numerous letters from Walter Reynolds asking money & honeyfugle generally," is in the hand of Walt Whitman.

Contributors to digital file: Alex Kinnaman, Elizabeth Lorang, Eder Jaramillo, John Schwaninger, Beverley Rilett, Caterina Bernardini, Marie Ernster, Cristin Noonan, Paige Wilkinson, Stephanie Blalock, and Amanda J. Axley

page image
image 1
page image
image 2
page image
image 3
page image
image 4

D. William Diggs. Wm. J. Cunningham. Fletcher W. Dickerman. Ezra M. Frost. Harry Coburn.
365 & 367 BROADWAY,
(Corner Franklin Street,)
P. O. BOX 735.
New York,1
May 13th 1872

Walt Whitman

I now take my pen in hand to let you know how I am getting along I am very well at present and hope you are the same I have been work for the above firm about three weeks as assistant shipping clerk and like the place very much. friend Walt I want to know if you will be kind enough loan me twenty dollars as I want to get a pair of pants and a coat. I have not been out of the house on sunday since New Years I will repay you inside of three months. if you could let me have the above amount you will confer a favor on

Yours Truly
W. Whitman Reynolds


P.S. please answer by mail as soon as you get this. direct your letter to

W. Whitman Reynolds
365 Bway
Care D. Caloo New York City

Walter Whitman Reynolds (b. 1854), named after the poet, was the son of Henry Reynolds (b. 1827–before 1880), a car driver, and Eliza Reynolds (b. 1828?). Walter's mother Eliza Reynolds, wrote to Whitman on October 16, 1868, imploring Whitman to get to know his namesake. She described Walter as "a nice boy, between 13 and 14 years old" and told the poet: "i thought perhaps you might take an interest in him."


1. This letter is addressed: Walt Whitman | Atty Gens Office | Washington | D.C. It is postmarked: New York | MAY | 14 | 10:30 AM; CARRIER | 15 [illegible] | CARRIER | 15 [illegible] | [illegible]. [back]


Published Works | In Whitman's Hand | Life & Letters | Commentary | Resources | Pictures & Sound

Support the Archive | About the Archive

Distributed under a Creative Commons License. Matt Cohen, Ed Folsom, & Kenneth M. Price, editors.