Life & Letters


About this Item

Title: Walt Whitman to Albert Rhodes, 8 August [1876–1884]

Date: August 8, [1876–1884]

Whitman Archive ID: loc.03309

Source: The Charles E. Feinberg Collection of the Papers of Walt Whitman, 1839–1919, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. Transcribed from digital images or a microfilm reproduction of the original item. For a description of the editorial rationale behind our treatment of the correspondence, see our statement of editorial policy.

Notes for this letter were created by Whitman Archive staff and/or were derived from Walt Whitman, The Correspondence, ed. Edwin Haviland Miller, 6 vols. (New York: New York University Press, 1961–1977), and supplemented or updated by Whitman Archive staff.

Contributors to digital file: Stephanie Blalock

page image
image 1
page image
image 2

431 Stevens Street cor West1
N Jersey
Aug 8

Glad to get living sign from you again, my dear Albert Rhodes.—should be gladder still to have you come in & bless me with one of your cheery talks, as of old. Would accept with thanks "the French at Home"—I am hauled up here like an hold hulk, the voyaging done,—but the timbers may (or may not) hold together yet awhile—maintain good heart & spirits most of the time—

Walt Whitman

During his career as a diplomat, Albert Rhodes (1840–1894) served as the United States Consul in the Netherlands, France, and Germany. Rhodes was also a frequent contributor of fiction and nonfiction to The Galaxy, The Century, and LIppincott's.


1. Whitman wrote this letter between 1876 and 1884, while he lived with his brother and sister-in-law on Stevens Street in Camden. [back]


Published Works | In Whitman's Hand | Life & Letters | Commentary | Resources | Pictures & Sound

Support the Archive | About the Archive

Distributed under a Creative Commons License. Matt Cohen, Ed Folsom, & Kenneth M. Price, editors.