Life & Letters


About this Item

Title: Carrie E. Wroth to Walt Whitman, 12 February 1890

Date: February 12, 1890

Whitman Archive ID: loc.04636

Source: The Charles E. Feinberg Collection of the Papers of Walt Whitman, 1839–1919, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C. Transcribed from digital images or a microfilm reproduction of the original item. For a description of the editorial rationale behind our treatment of the correspondence, see our statement of editorial policy.

Editorial note: The annotation, "Carrie E Wroth," is in the hand of Walt Whitman.

Contributors to digital file: Blake Bronson-Bartlett, Ian Faith, Alex Ashland, and Stephanie Blalock

page image
image 1
page image
image 2
page image
image 3
page image
image 4
page image
image 5
page image
image 6

Feb. 12/90

My dear Mr Whitman

You will, no doubt be surprised, when you see the signature to this letter, but. I have often been tempted to write you—to thank you for your kindness in writing to my boy2—far away in the Sierra Madre mountains—and always gladly welcoming any letters from his old home—and, especially from you—who have so many correspondents—and have also suffered from extreme indisposition, he has appreciated particularly your thought of him—& been much pleased—& his mother also shares with him the same feeling—

I have once or twice learned, thro' the papers, of your ill health—with much regret and, we are always interested when we see your name—in print—

I received a letter from John today—in which he mentions having heard from you & that he had received a card also—he has had an attack of Pneumonia—his first sickness since he has been out there—and, is much weakened by it—and. I realise how very far away he is—and feel anxious about him—

I will not trespass further on your time but hope you are regaining your strength and much improved—Alice3 unites with me in very kind remembrances—

Yours very truly
Carrie E. Wroth

Caroline "Carrie" Ellsworth Wright Wroth (1831–1909) of Philadelphia was the daughter of John Wright and Harriet Patterson Wright. She was the wife of the produce dealer and businessman James W. Wroth (ca.1815–1881) of Maryland. The Wroths had three children James H. ("Harry"), Alice, and John ("Johnny") Wroth. Whitman tooks his meals at the Wroths' residence (319 Stevens Street, Camden) for a period of time beginning in July 1881. Later, the Wroths moved to Albuquerque, New Mexico, and Whitman kept in touch with them. When Carrie Wroth wrote this letter, she and her daughter were living in Maryland.


1. This letter is addressed: Walt Whitman | Mickle St | Camden | New Jersey. It is postmarked: Perryville | Feb | 13 | 1890 | MD; [illegible]. [back]

2. John Wright Wroth (1869–1901) was the younger son of James W. and Carrie E. Wroth. He had written to Whitman on December 18, 1889 from Chihauhau, Mexico. An envelope in Whitman's hand bears this address suggesting that Whitman had written to Wroth, but the letter does not seem to survive. [back]

3. Alice Ellsworth Wroth (b. 1864) was Carrie's daughter. [back]


Published Works | In Whitman's Hand | Life & Letters | Commentary | Resources | Pictures & Sound

Support the Archive | About the Archive

Distributed under a Creative Commons License. Matt Cohen, Ed Folsom, & Kenneth M. Price, editors.