Life & Letters


About this Item

Title: Frederick Locker-Lampson to Walt Whitman, 13 October 1880

Date: October 13, 1880

Whitman Archive ID: med.00642

Source: The location of the original is unknown. The transcription presented here is derived from Thomas Donaldson, Walt Whitman the Man (New York: Francis P. Harper, 1896), 237. For a description of the editorial rationale behind our treatment of the correspondence, see our statement of editorial policy.

Contributors to digital file: Courtney Rebecca Lawton, Alicia Bones, Stefan Schöberlein, and Nicole Gray

I have just received your card,1 dated 28th September, and I am very glad to hear that you have had so pleasant a summer, and that you are in better health.2 Long may you remain so, say I. Did you receive a letter I sent you some weeks ago, asking you to write four or six lines in an MS. poem by Walter Scott?3 Not hearing from you, I fear you have not received it. If you have not received it, may I send it to you again, when I will explain my wishes? It will only occupy you for five minutes. I spent a very pleasant hour yesterday with Lowell. We smoked the pipe of good-fellowship. Tennyson is in Sussex, quite well. I shall send him your card.

F. Locker.


1. Thomas Donaldson writes that this postal card was dated October 13, 1880, from London. [back]

2. Frederick Locker-Lampson (1821–1895), an English poet, corresponded with Whitman in 1880. Locker-Lampson's daughter Eleanor married Lionel Tennyson, younger son of the poet Alfred, Lord Tennyson. [back]

3. See the letter from Locker-Lampson to Whitman of July 3, 1880[back]


Published Works | In Whitman's Hand | Life & Letters | Commentary | Resources | Pictures & Sound

Support the Archive | About the Archive

Distributed under a Creative Commons License. Matt Cohen, Ed Folsom, & Kenneth M. Price, editors.