Life & Letters


About this Item

Title: Walt Whitman to James S. Wroth, 28 July 1887

Date: July 28, 1887

Whitman Archive ID: med.00819

Source: The location of this manuscript is unknown. In the preface to volume four of The Correspondence, Miller acknowledges that this letter was once in the possession of James S. Wroth. The transcription presented here is derived from Walt Whitman, The Correspondence, ed. Edwin Haviland Miller (New York: New York University Press, 1961–1977), 4:113. For a description of the editorial rationale behind our treatment of the correspondence, see our statement of editorial policy.

Contributors to digital file: Alex Ashland, Stefan Schöberlein, Caterina Bernardini, and Stephanie Blalock

Camden New Jersey1
July 28 1887

Thanks for the good photo—dear little fellow—I too hope we shall meet personally—Best love to you—& to your parents—

Walt Whitman

John's letter rec'd, all right & welcome2

As yet we have no information about this correspondent.


1. This letter is addressed: James Stewart Wroth | Care Dr. Harry Wroth | Albuquerque | New Mexico. It is postmarked: Philadelphia, Pa. | Jul 28 | (?) PM | 87. [back]

2. According to Miller, Wroth informed Whitman that he "was just under two years of age when this card was sent" (Miller, ed., The Correspondence [New York: New York University Press, 1961–77], 4:112, note 7). The recipient's father, James Henry Wroth, was known as "Harry" to his intimate friends; he died in 1926. James Henry's brother John had written to Walt Whitman on June 2, 1887[back]


Published Works | In Whitman's Hand | Life & Letters | Commentary | Resources | Pictures & Sound

Support the Archive | About the Archive

Distributed under a Creative Commons License. Matt Cohen, Ed Folsom, & Kenneth M. Price, editors.