Life & Letters


About this Item

Title: Walt Whitman to Anne Gilchrist, 2 July [1877]

Date: July 2, 1877

Whitman Archive ID: pml.00047

Source: The Pierpont Morgan Library, New York . The transcription presented here is derived from Walt Whitman, The Correspondence, ed. Edwin Haviland Miller (New York: New York University Press, 1961–1977), 3:90. For a description of the editorial rationale behind our treatment of the correspondence, see our statement of editorial policy.

Contributors to digital file: Alicia Bones, Anthony Dreesen, Eder Jaramillo, Kevin McMullen, and Nicole Gray

noon July 2.

A beautiful day, & we are enjoying it—H[erbert] is painting2—I am well, for me—We expect to come up Friday—(possibly I not till Saturday)—



1. This letter bears the address: Mrs Gilchrist | 1929 north 22d Street | Philadelphia. It is postmarked: Kirkw[ood] | Jul | 3(?) | (?). [back]

2. Herbert Gilchrist spent part of July painting at Kirkwood (The Commonplace Book, Charles E. Feinberg Collection of the Papers of Walt Whitman, 1839–1919, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.). Also, see the letter from Whitman to Herbert Gilchrist of July 22, 1877. In a news article in the Camden Daily Post on August 2, which quoted from the Washington Star, Whitman, who was obviously the anonymous author, referred to Herbert's portrait of himself: "The painting, which is now well advanced, and promises to be an excellent likeness, represents Mr. Whitman sitting in an easy chair under a favorite tree." Whitman expected to return to Camden on Friday, July 6, as noted in his letter to John Burroughs of June 22, 1877[back]


Published Works | In Whitman's Hand | Life & Letters | Commentary | Resources | Pictures & Sound

Support the Archive | About the Archive

Distributed under a Creative Commons License. Matt Cohen, Ed Folsom, & Kenneth M. Price, editors.