Life & Letters


About this Item

Title: Walt Whitman to Anne Gilchrist, 20 August [1877]

Date: August 20, 1877

Whitman Archive ID: pml.00049

Source: The Pierpont Morgan Library, New York. The transcription presented here is derived from Walt Whitman, The Correspondence, ed. Edwin Haviland Miller (New York: New York University Press, 1961–1977), 3:95. For a description of the editorial rationale behind our treatment of the correspondence, see our statement of editorial policy.

Contributors to digital file: Alicia Bones, Anthony Dreesen, Eder Jaramillo, Kevin McMullen, and Nicole Gray

Kirkwood N J
Monday afternoon Aug 201

My dear friend,

I forward you the accompanying rec'd to-day by me. The other two will you please take, or mail to my sister in Camden, soon as you have read?2

I am here yet, living a free outdoor life, alone with the pond & trees, lots of wild flowers, lots of butterflies (those in season now)—Shall report myself to you soon as I come up—



1. August 20 was on Monday in 1877. Whitman returned to Kirkwood on August 12 and, except for a flying visit to Camden on August 15, remained there until September 10 (The Commonplace Book, Charles E. Feinberg Collection of the Papers of Walt Whitman, 1839–1919, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.). [back]

2. The enclosures, probably letters, are not with the manuscript. [back]


Published Works | In Whitman's Hand | Life & Letters | Commentary | Resources | Pictures & Sound

Support the Archive | About the Archive

Distributed under a Creative Commons License. Matt Cohen, Ed Folsom, & Kenneth M. Price, editors.