Life & Letters


About this Item

Title: Walt Whitman to Edward Carpenter, 25 October 1877

Date: October 25, 1877

Whitman Archive ID: sta.00005

Source: Miller's transcription is based on a typescript of the letter, held by Stanford University. The transcription presented here is derived from Walt Whitman, The Correspondence, ed. Edwin Haviland Miller (New York: New York University Press, 1961–1977), 3:101. For a description of the editorial rationale behind our treatment of the correspondence, see our statement of editorial policy.

Contributors to digital file: Alicia Bones, Grace Thomas, Eder Jaramillo, Kevin McMullen, and Nicole Gray

New Jersey,
U. S. A.
October 25th, 1877.

I send to-day to same address as this card, one L of G, one T[wo] R[ivulets], and four copies Dem[ocratic] Vistas.1

I am pretty well and getting along as usual. I saw the G[ilchrist]s last evening.2 They are well.

If you want another copy or two, send me word, and write when you can.

W. W.


1. This transaction is confirmed in The Commonplace Book (Charles E. Feinberg Collection of the Papers of Walt Whitman, 1839–1919, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.). [back]

2. Whitman had supper with Anne Gilchrist every evening from October 22 to 26 (Commonplace Book). [back]


Published Works | In Whitman's Hand | Life & Letters | Commentary | Resources | Pictures & Sound

Support the Archive | About the Archive

Distributed under a Creative Commons License. Matt Cohen, Ed Folsom, & Kenneth M. Price, editors.