Life & Letters


About this Item

Title: Walt Whitman to Anne Gilchrist, [30 October 1877]

Date: October 30, 1877

Whitman Archive ID: upa.00164

Source: Walt Whitman Collection, 1842–1957, Rare Book & Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania . The transcription presented here is derived from Walt Whitman, The Correspondence, ed. Edwin Haviland Miller (New York: New York University Press, 1961–1977), 3:101–102. For a description of the editorial rationale behind our treatment of the correspondence, see our statement of editorial policy.

Contributors to digital file: Alicia Bones, Grace Thomas, Eder Jaramillo, and Kevin McMullen

431 Stevens Street1
Tuesday forenoon2

As I write (9–10 o'clock) it looks so stormy it is probable I shall not be over this evening—I had a good night, & have just had a good breakfast, & am feeling comfortable—



1. The postcard bears the address: Mrs Gilchrist | 1929 North 22d Street | Philadelphia. It is postmarked: Philadelphia | Oct | 30 | 1 PM | Pa. [back]

2. The date of this postcard is established by the postmark. October 30 occurred on Tuesday in 1877. On November 1 Whitman wrote in The Commonplace Book: "walked a-foot in Phil: and C[amden]—more than for four years, at any one time" (Charles E. Feinberg Collection of the Papers of Walt Whitman, 1839–1919, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C.). [back]


Published Works | In Whitman's Hand | Life & Letters | Commentary | Resources | Pictures & Sound

Support the Archive | About the Archive

Distributed under a Creative Commons License. Matt Cohen, Ed Folsom, & Kenneth M. Price, editors.