Life & Letters


About this Item

Title: Walt Whitman to Anne Gilchrist, 3 June 1880

Date: June 3, 1880

Whitman Archive ID: upa.00191

Source: Walt Whitman Collection, 1842–1957, Rare Book & Manuscript Library, University of Pennsylvania. The transcription presented here is derived from Walt Whitman, The Correspondence, ed. Edwin Haviland Miller (New York: New York University Press, 1964), 3:180. For a description of the editorial rationale behind our treatment of the correspondence, see our statement of editorial policy.

Contributors to digital file: Alicia Bones, Grace Thomas, Eder Jaramillo, and Kevin McMullen

June 3 '80

I start at 8 this evening for Niagara Falls2—& so on farther west, North, &c. My address for six or eight weeks to come will be care of Dr Bucke, London, Ontario, Canada. I am well as usual—



1. This letter is addressed: Mrs Gilchrist | 5 Mount Vernon Hampstead | London England. It is postmarked: Camden | Jun | 3 | N.J.; Philad'a Pa. | Jun | 4 | Paid All; London(?) | D6 | Paid | Ju 14 80. [back]

2. Whitman was accompanied by Dr. Richard Maurice Bucke, who had come to Camden on May 25. See also Specimen Days (ed. Floyd Stovall [New York: New York University Press, 1963], 236–237). On June 1 Whitman made a new will in which he appointed George and his wife as executor and executrix. At the time he had approximately $1000 in the Brooklyn Savings Bank and about $800 in the National State Bank in Camden. He bequeathed four-sevenths of his estate to Edward and one-seventh each to Mary Van Nostrand, Hannah Heyde, and his nieces, Mannahatta and Jessie (Whitman House, Camden). [back]


Published Works | In Whitman's Hand | Life & Letters | Commentary | Resources | Pictures & Sound

Support the Archive | About the Archive

Distributed under a Creative Commons License. Matt Cohen, Ed Folsom, & Kenneth M. Price, editors.