Life & Letters


About this Item

Title: Walt Whitman to William J. Linton, 14 September [1875]

Date: September 14, 1875

Whitman Archive ID: yal.00419

Source: Yale Collection of American Literature, Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library. The transcription presented here is derived from Walt Whitman, The Correspondence, ed. Edwin Haviland Miller (New York: New York University Press, 1961–1977), 2:340–341. For a description of the editorial rationale behind our treatment of the correspondence, see our statement of editorial policy.

Contributors to digital file: Elizabeth Lorang, Zachary King, and Eric Conrad

431 Stevens st.
cor West.
N. Jersey.
Sept 14.

My dear Linton,

I rec'd a letter to–day from Moncure Conway1 (just arr'd here from England) in which this was enc'd —you being ment'd in it.2

I jog on about the same—(frequent bad spells—but still up & around after a fashion.)

Pleasant September days & nights here—I have just been out for an hour on the river—now, 2 p. m., sitting here by open window, middling comfortable—

Walt Whitman


1. Moncure Daniel Conway (1832–1907) was an American abolitionist, minister, and frequent correspondent with Walt Whitman. Conway often acted as Whitman's agent and occasional public relations man in England. For more on Conway, see Philip W. Leon, "Conway, Moncure Daniel (1832–1907)," Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia, ed. J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings (New York: Garland Publishing, 1998). [back]

2. This letter was written on the verso of a letter from William Bell Scott to Conway, dated August 21, 1875. William Michael Rossetti had dedicated his edition of Walt Whitman's poems to Scott. [back]


Published Works | In Whitman's Hand | Life & Letters | Commentary | Resources | Pictures & Sound

Support the Archive | About the Archive

Distributed under a Creative Commons License. Matt Cohen, Ed Folsom, & Kenneth M. Price, editors.